Nancy’s Strawberry Quinoa Porridge

Looking for new foods to fuel my active lifestyle I have discovered the benefits of high protein, low fat, low sugar and natural ingredients! I have linked benefits to these foods for you to see, but the important thing is to actually try them in your nutrition! I am guilty of buying that bag of Quinoa and letting it sit there unused for months…. and afraid of sweeteners that may encourage my sugar indulgence, when the easy natural alternative in stevia was right there. My other favorites are also included, as I can put Penzey’s cinnamon on everything! YUM! Love this new recipe and I will finally be eating that bag of quinoa! 🙂

Image

Nancy’s Strawberry Quinoa Porridge
Makes 4 Servings

  1.  In a medium-sized saucepan, combine quinoa and 2 cups water.
  2.  Bring to a boil, reduce heat and simmer covered for 12 minutes.
  3. Pour in milk and simmer for an additional 10 minutes.
  4.  Stir in nutmeg, cinnamon, apple, raisins and stevia
  5.  Cover and let rest 10 minutes.
  6.  Serve topped with strawberries, a little unsweetened almond milk (I like the vanilla) and just a little more cinnamon, because I can’t seem to get enough!

Store the extras in the refrigerator for a quick snack or reheat for the next day’s breakfast!

I entered the recipe in Lose it for nutrition info and logging. 200 calories and fills you right up! I am running a 5K tonight with some extra miles, so we shall see how it performs!

Image

What is your favorite “super food” ?

Thanks for stopping by – please leave a comment if you have some great tips to share on cooking quinoa or other super foods! YUM!

456921423075015181213

About NancyE

I'm a top ranked master Marathon Runner, Waterskier, Alpine Skiing Development Coach & PSIA certified instructor, Ski Race Photographer, Proud Mom, & Loving Wife. I love my Community, my Home, my Labrador Retriever, my Trails in the summer & Mountains in the winter. I'm a lymphoma cancer survivor diagnosed July 2010 - passionate about sharing my strength, finding a cure & raising the funds needed for research, working toward the ultimate goal of a cancer free world
This entry was posted in recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Nancy’s Strawberry Quinoa Porridge

  1. Dede MacDonald says:

    OMG, Nancy, this looks so good! I am definitely going to try it. I have recently started eating whole foods and through that, have lost 50 lbs! This definitely needs to be a part of my “legal desserts!” The only thing I have to change is the 1% milk to almond milk and it is completely legal for me to eat. And I know a lot of people who would also love it! Thank you for posting! Sharing!!

    • NancyE says:

      Yay for the win on the food choices and the 50 lbs — you rock! I love almond milk too and really can change it to using only almond milk for this recipe to be “legal” for me as well. I never knew Quinoa could taste so good, but there is something about the spice that is used that really give it the flavor. Obviously I am a fan of Penzey’s V Cinnamon – but the nutmeg really gives it a wonderful flavor too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

